Well, I don’t know.

18 Sep

I listened to a great story on NPR on my way out to work this morning: Listen.

Leah Hager Cohen is on the air talking about her new book, I Don’t Know: In Praise of Admitting Ignorance (Except When You Shouldn’t), which I’d like to read. Near the end of the interview, she talks about the fact that this year’s graduating high school class will be the first generation to have grown up completely under the No Child Left Behind Act and worries about how this focus on test-prep and the “right” answer will impact kids’ ability to ask questions. She explains, “I worry that we may not be teaching enough the value of experimentation and failure and risk-taking and the process of inquiry.” I am definitely seeing this in my classroom. Is it true for yours?

9781594632396_custom-c7d8d5773afe0025055a53edb3c6c564a50738cb-s2-c85

Leave a Reply

